



February 20, 2024

Hon. Nyoenblee Karngar-Lawrence President ProTempore Liberian Senate 55th Legislature/ Republic of Liberia

Dear Madam Pro Tempore:

We present our compliments and most respectfully submit to you and our distinguished colleagues of the Honorable Senate a Draft Bill titled: **Presidential Transition Act of 2024** – a slightly revised version of the Draft Presidential Transition Act of 2017 that was before the Senate - for your consideration and enactment into law. This Draft Bill was completed through collaborative efforts among the Senators who are signatories to this letter. The overarching objective of the proposed law is to create a legal framework and mechanism for the orderly and seamless transfer of power from one democratically elected President to another democratically elected President pursuant to the Constitution of Liberia and the New Elections Law (as amended).

As you are well aware, our country has witnessed two democratic transitions in recent times—in 2017 and 2023. These transitions were occasioned by the change of power from one elected President to another elected President. For the most part, both transitions were marred by confusion and inefficiency, and even at times reluctance or outright refusal to perform functions critical to the orderly transfer of power, all occasioned by the absence of a legal framework to guide the process. Consequently, it is now in the very best interest of the country and its deepening democracy that the transition of political power from one President to another President be carried out in an orderly manner that enables the incoming President to be au currant with the affairs of the state upon being inaugurated.

We hope that you will give this critical piece of legislation due consideration for the sustenance of our democratic culture.

Thanks for your kind consideration. Please accept the assurances of our highest esteem.

Singerely,

Amara M. Konneh

Senator, Gbarpolu County

Abraham Darius Dillon

Senator, Montserrado County

Francis Saidy Dopoh

Senator, River Gee County

Nathanie (F. McGill

Senator, Margibi County

Sen Mrs. Darbah Vapillah

Senator, Grand Cape Mount County

Edwin Melvin Snowe Jr.

Senator, Bomi County

Jonny K. Kpehe Sr.

Senator, Bong County

Cllr. Augustine Chea

Senator, Sinoe County